Science Advisory Council

In 2012, in order to provide strategic guidance to SEI on research priorities and quality, the SEI board established a Science Advisory Council (SAC) consisting of leading international researchers.
The SAC is an advisory body to the SEI board. Its overarching role is to advise on research priorities and follow up SEI’s scientific achievements.


SEI SAC SusanOwens  

Susan E. Owens (chair)

Cambridge University, U.K. >>

Professor of Environment and Policy and Professorial Fellow of Newnham College.


Hong Yang

EAWAG, Switzerland >>

Senior research scientist, Department of Systems Analysis, Integrated Assessment and Modeling.

SEI SAC RashidHassan UPdotACdotZA  

Rashid Hassan

University of Pretoria, South Africa >>

Professor and Director: Centre for Environmental Economics and Policy in Africa.

SEI SAC MarkPelling KingsCollegeLondon  

Mark Pelling

King's College London, UK >>

Professor of Geography.

SEI SAC RobertoSchaeffer UFRJdotBR  

Roberto Schaeffer

Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil >>

Professor of Energy Economics in the Energy Planning Program (PPE)



Diana Liverman

Professor, School of Geography and Development, University of Arizona



Frank Biermann

Professor, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, Utrecht University



Melissa Leach

Professor, Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex



Kalpana Balakrishnan

Professor, Sri Ramachandra Medical College & Research Institute, Sri Ramachandra University



Ruben Apressyan

Professor, Institute of Philosophy, Russian Academy of Sciences



Thomas Elmqvist

Professor, Stockholm Resilience Centre, Stockholm University